PRA’s Phil Maguire OBE and BBC’s Kiran Nandra elected


Share Me:

Following the election held in January, the Radio Academy has announced Phil Maguire OBE and Kiran Nandra as the new additions to their board of trustees.

Phil is Chief Executive of the Prison Radio Association, a role he’s held since 2006, before which he worked at BBC Radio 2 and BBC Nations & Regions. He was awarded the OBE in 2019 for Services to Radio Production and Prison Radio.

Kiran is a Producer at BBC Radio 1Xtra, and has been with the corporation for 20 years, working as part of the national launch team for BBC Asian Network and BBC Two’s Asian Programmes Unit. She spent eight years as governor of an Ofsted Outstanding school, and is currently a BBC Diversity & Inclusion Reverse Mentor.

The new Trustees replace Grace Hopper (KISS) and Philippa Aylott (BBC Radio 2 & 6 Music) who stand down after serving three years on the board.  The board has agreed to co-opt Dixi Stewart (BBC) for an additional year to act as Chair of the Radio Academy Festival.

Welcoming the two new trustees to the board, Radio Academy Chair Helen Thomas said: “It’s fantastic to add Kiran and Phil’s expertise to our fantastic group of passionate, experienced and knowledgeable trustees. I and the rest of the board look forward to working with them both.

“I would also like to publicly thank Grace and Philippa for their time on the Radio Academy board. They have both served with creativity, vision and generosity to the cause of the charity, and we are all hugely grateful”.