The ARIAS took place last night at the glittering London Palladium, with host Greg James handing out 26 awards to recipients from across the Audio and Radio Industry.

The big winners on the night included 1Xtra’s Dotty (pictured) who won Gold for Best Breakfast Show, Elis and John on 5Live who won Funniest Show, and BBC Radio 2 who won Station of the Year. Best Local Radio Show was won by Boogie in the Morning on Forth 1, and Best Commercial Promotion was won by talkSPORT for their Samaritans campaign.

There were special Gold Award for TayFM, talkSPORT and JazzFM, all celebrating big anniversaries in 2020 and demonstrating remarkable achievements in the last year.

The new Radio Times Moment of the Year award, voted for by readers and visitors to, was won by Iain Lee, for the moment an overdosing man called the show in 2019, and spoke on air to Iain until the police arrived.

The event was sponsored by a range of generous partners, drawn from across the industry.

Back to All Posts

Copyright © 2019 Radio Academy. All Rights Reserved.