2016 ARIAS2017 ARIAS2018 ARIAS


The 2018 ceremony took place in the First Direct Arena and were presented by Melvin Odoom and Pandora Christie of Kiss FM. There were live music performances from Tony Hadley, Sophie Ellis Bextor, 808 State, Poppy Ajudha and The Covasettes.

144 entries were nominated in 23 categories – click here for the full list.  Gold Awards were presented in the following categories:

Best New Presenter – Ronan Keating, Magic Radio
Best New Show/Podcast – You, Me & the Big C, BBC Radio 5 Live
Best News Coverage – Real Life Stories, The Emma Barnett Show, BBC Radio 5 Live
Best Speech Presenter at Breakfast – Stephen Nolan, BBC Radio Ulster
Best Speech Presenter – Non Breakfast – Justin Dealey, BBC Eastern Counties
Best Sports Show/Podcast – Mo-Joe: An 18 Week Marathon Training Diary, Audible
Best Coverage of an Event – An Accent Exceedingly Rare: A Love Letter to Liverpool, BBC Radio Merseyside
Best Music Presenter at Breakfast – The Mylo & Rosie Show, Pulse 1
Best Music Presenter (non breakfast) – Jamie Cullum, BBC Radio 2
Best Specialist Music Show – Edith Bowman’s Soundtracking podcast
Best Factual Storytelling /Documentary – Meeting The Man I Killed, BBC Radio 4
Funniest Show – Fortunately… with Fi and Jane, BBC Radio 4
Best Podcast – Griefcast, Acast
Best Fictional Storytelling – Double Bubble, National Prison Radio
Best Station Sound – Radio 1 Vintage, BBC Radio 1
Best Commercial Promotion – Magic Radio
Best Marketing Campaign – Common People, BBC Radio Sheffield
Best Community Programming – The Frank Skinner Show conversation with Al Gore, Absolute Radio
Best Local Radio Show – David Burns, BBC Radio Humberside
Local Station of the Year – BBC Radio Leeds
National Station or Network of the Year – BBC Radio 1
Radio Academy Award Team of the Year – Cash for Kids, Bauer Radio’s network of local charities
Radio Academy Award Individual of the Year – Paul Sylvester, Content Director, Absolute Radio

Latest News & Events

#RadFest20 – coming soon!

Following the postponement of the 2020 Radio Academy Festival in May due to the coronavirus, we’re pleased to announce that it will be back…

Read More

Watch the Race On Audio & Radio webinars

The Radio Academy held two game-changing webinars in August, entitled R.O.A.R – Race On Audio & Radio. The webinars – which were open to Radio…

Read More

Show You’re Listening: donate to AREF

The Radio Academy has launched a new initiative called ‘Show You’re Listening’ to encourage colleagues to donate in support of the recently established Audio…

Read More

Copyright © 2020 Radio Academy. All Rights Reserved.