2016 ARIAS2017 ARIAS2018 ARIAS


The 2016 awards were held at the Leeds First Direct Arena, and hosted by Sara Cox, with live performances from Rick Astley, Kaiser Chiefs and Gregory Porter.

Read the full nominees.  Gold Awards were given to:

Best News Coverage – The Buncrana Pier Tragedy – BBC Radio Foyle
Best Entertainment Production – Greg James – BBC Radio 1
Best Audio Dramatisation – Lament – BBC Radio Drama London for Radio 4
Best National Speech Breakfast Show – Today – BBC Radio 4
Best Local Breakfast Show – Georgey at Breakfast – BBC Radio York
Best National Music Breakfast Show – The Chris Evans Breakfast Show – BBC Radio 2
Best Sports Show – 606 – Shooting Shark Productions for BBC Radio 5 Live
Best Digital Audio Service – audioBoom
Podcast of the Year – The Story of Izzy Dix – BBC Newsbeat
Best Digital Innovation – The BBC iPlayer Radio App
Audio Moment of the Year – The Boy Who Gave His Heart Away – TBI Media for BBC Radio 4
The Radio Academy Award – Sound Digital for D2
Speech Broadcaster of the Year – Stephen Nolan – BBC Radio Ulster and BBC Radio 5 Live
Music Broadcaster of the Year –  MistaJam – BBC Radio 1Xtra
Best Local Station – Hallam FM
Best National Station – BBC Radio 2

Latest News & Events

30 Under 30 applications open

We are delighted to let you know that we are now welcoming entries for the ReelWorld Radio Academy 30 Under 30. This year’s chair is Steve Parkinson, Group Managing Director, National Radio,…

Read More

Audio & Radio Emergency Fund

Find out how you can donate to AREF via JustGiving, or how you can apply for support if you’re experiencing hardship during Covid-19. How…

Read More

ARIAS winners announced

The ARIAS took place last night at the glittering London Palladium, with host Greg James handing out 26 awards to recipients from across the…

Read More

Copyright © 2019 Radio Academy. All Rights Reserved.