Foot In The Door 2012

Wednesday 14th November | Compass Room, The Lowry, Salford Quays M50 3AZ

Foot In The Door 2012

Want to work in radio but not sure how to get your foot in the door? Well, look no further than the aptly-named Foot In The Door Masterclass at the Radio Festival!

Foot In The Door is the Radio Academy Masterclass where the delegates set the agenda. The session is broken into ten themed rounds, with delegates getting the chance to meet and question industry insiders. Just like speed-dating, delegates get 15 minutes to talk to the individuals on each table before the klaxon sounds and they have to move on.

Tickets: £24.00 plus VAT (members) / £48.00 plus VAT (non-members).
To purchase tickets, please click here.

Foot In The Door 2012

9:30: Registration
10:00-10.05: Opener from Geoff Lloyd
10:05-11.50: Foot In The Door rounds 1-7
11:50-12.00: Q&A with Geoff Lloyd
12:00-12.30: Lunch
12.30-13.15: Foot In The Door rounds 8-10
13:15: Foot In The Door ends
13:30-14.30: Demo clinic (one-to-ones)

Host
Geoff Lloyd- Presenter, Absolute Radio – @GeoffLloyd

Table 1: How Do I Get On Air?
Dan Green – Managing Director, Represent Talent Management – @DanGreenGB
Chris North – Director of Talent & Deputy MD, Wise Buddah – @chrisnorth94
Paul Sylvester – Head of Presentation, Absolute Radio @paulsylvester75

Table 2: What Training Can I Do?
Natasha Maw – Radio Training Programme Manager, BBC Academy
Charles Runcie – Head of Sport, BBC English Regions – @charlesruncie
Paul Buller – Editor, BBC College of Production Website, BBC Academy – @BBCCoP

Table 3: What Do Producers Do?
Kyle Evans – Programme Controller, Real Radio North West – @kylealexevans
Sam Gregory – Talent Manager, Wise Buddah – @mrsamgregory
Laura Mather – Brand Imaging Producer, Real and Smooth Radio – @lauraproducer

Table 4: What Is Station Branding?
Lyndsay Ferrigan – Research Communications Manager, RAJAR – @lyndsayferrigan
Andy Haylett – Survey Director, Ipsos MORI – @ipsosMediaCT
Ali Rezakhani – Creative Director, On The Sly

Table 5: Online, Interactive, Podcasts?
Rory Connolly – Senior Producer, BBC Music Events – @witholeary
Ciaran Howley – Digital Network Content Producer, Real and Smooth Radio – @ciaranhowley
Gav Richards – Product Development Director, G Media – @gav
Phil Watson – Senior Content Producer, BBC Radio 1 & 1Xtra – @philwatson

Table 6: How Do I Freelance In Radio?
Kate Cocker – Talent Manager, Coach and Producer, What Goes On Media – @K8Cocker
Sarah Grun – Producer, Unusual Productions – @sarahgrun

Table 7: What Can I Do Right Now?
Jo Good – Presenter, BBC 6 Music – @MissJoGood
Jonathan Jacob – Solutions Manager, Global Radio – @jonathanjacob
Trevor Marshall – Breakfast Show Presenter, Jack FM Oxfordshire – @trevor_marshall

Table 8: Who Chooses The Music?
Trevor Jordan – Executive Producer, Key103 Manchester – @RadioTrev
Karen Pearson – Company Director/Executive Producer, Folded Wing – @MissKarenP

Table 9: How Do I Become A Journalist?
Justin Kings – Head of News – Bauer Radio, North East and Cumbria – @newsleader
Marsha Ramroop – News & Sport Editor, BBC Radio Derby – @MarshaRamroop
Christian Spooner – Group Head of News, Real and Smooth Radio Ltd – @SP00NS

Table 10: What Is Independent Production?
Janet Graves – Independent Producer, Pennine Productions
John Ryan – Director, 2ZY – @2zytweets

Demo Clinic (13.30 – 14.30)

After Foot In The Door, we will be holding pre-booked appointments for the Demo Clinic. Each appointment will last 15 minutes and only delegates who book and attend Foot in the Door can participate. If you would like the chance to receive up to 15 minutes of one-to-one advice on your demo from an industry expert, forward your ticket confirmation to FITD@radioacademy.org.
***Please note, these places are limited and will be allocated first come first served based on receipt of email (not date of ticket purchase).***